Ahmedabad Cantonment Board
Ahmedabad Cantonment
The Board
Home The Board President

Cantonment Board Ahmedabad is a body corporate created under a central statute called Cantonments Act 2006, working under the administrative control of the ministry of defence and entrusted with the municipal and developmental functions in respect of a cantonment. The Board is constituted under section 00 of the cantonment act through procedure prescribed therein.

Ahmedabad Cantonment Board has been constituted in accordance with section 00(0) being a class-0 cantonment. However presently the Board has been varied in accordance with section 00 of the act ibid and its constitution has been changed in accordance with the section 00(0) as a temporary measure.

The President

The officer commanding the station is the ex-officio president of the cantonment Board unless directed otherwise by the central government. The president holds the office for a period commensurate with his tenure as station commander.

The president controls, directs and supervises the financial and executive administration of the Board. All the meetings of the Board are presided over by him and he is directly responsible for the fulfillment of the purpose of the cantonments act. Brig. H K Pokhariyal, Dy GOC, is presently holding the office of the president since July 2016.

Ex Presidents
The Vice President

In every Board in which there is more than one elected member, a post of vice-president exists who is elected by the elected members only from amongst themselves.

The term of the vice president is normally five years unless removed in accordance section 00(0).

The vice president presides over the meetings of the Board in absence of the president and when presiding exercises the authority of the president under section 00(0) or during the incapacity or temporary absence of the president.

Ex Vice-Presidents
Copyright © 2009 Cantonment Board Ahmedabad. | Disclaimer
Designed and Maintained by- Silver Touch Technologies Ltd.